Seven European Union states launch EU vaccination…

Seven European Union states launch EU vaccination certificate system

 01 Jun 2021 – 16:27

Seven European Union states launch EU vaccination certificate systemEmpty seats and tables in front of a restauarant are pictured amid the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic, in Berlin, Germany May 30, 2021. REUTERS/Annegret Hilse
ATHENS, Greece: Greece and six other European Union member states on Tuesday are introducing a vaccination certificate system, ahead of the rollout of the programme across the bloc on July 1.

The other countries are Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Croatia, and Poland, according to the European Commission.

Greece has been pressing for the commonly-recognized certificate that will use a QR code with advanced security features, and the idea was originally put forward by Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis.

Greece’s digital governance minister, Kyriakos Pierrakakis, said easier travel will open up within the EU as member states adopt the new verification standard.

The new certificate will be available to people who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19, have a recent negative test result or have recovered from a coronavirus infection.



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *